Jump to the beginning of content

Change of Consumership

Approval for consumership may be granted in accordance with Section 7 of the Waterworks Ordinance:

"The Water Authority may approve, as the consumer of a fire service or inside service in any premises, any person who -

  1. occupies the premises; or
  2. is responsible for the management of the premises or any part thereof; and
  3. gives an undertaking, in such form as the Water Authority may specify, -

    1. to pay any charge due in respect of the fire service or inside service; and
    2. to accept responsibility for the custody and maintenance of the fire service or inside service and the custody of any meter pertaining to the fire service or inside service."

In this regard, the person who occupies or is responsible for the management of the premises is required to make an application for taking up the water consumership of the premises. Please note that a deceased person cannot undertake the responsibilities of a registered consumer as stipulated in the Waterworks Ordinance and Waterworks Regulations.  If no application is received, we may disconnect the water supply.  Once the supply is disconnected, the consumer has to pay a reconnection fee for reconnecting the inside service.

Moving In (Taking Up Accounts)

Any person, who occupies the premises or is responsible for the management of the premises, should apply to be the registered consumer of water supply.    Both domestic and non-domestic applicants are required to give an undertaking and to pay a water deposit and charges required by the Waterworks Ordinance and Waterworks Regulations.  If there is outstanding water charges in the ex-registered consumer’s account, applicant may be requested to produce documents such as solicitor’s letter, stamped tenancy agreement, or purchases agreement, etc. for our verification of the effective date of taking up of consumership.
 
Application can be made in personal capacity or in the name of a company through the following channels:

By Post, By Fax or By Email

Applications may be made either by post or by fax or by email. The completed application form (Note 1) should be sent together with a photocopy of the applicant's Hong Kong Identity Card or Passport or the Business Registration Certificate as appropriate to the Water Supplies Department (WSD).  Applications will normally be completed within 7 working days.

Type of Application
1. If ex-registered consumers have separately submitted their applications for closure of account but the meters have not yet been removed, new occupiers should use Form WWO1 for taking up accounts.
2. If new occupiers can contact the ex-registered consumers - direct or through property agents - to agree on a date of change of consumership and jointly complete Form WWO 1145 for change of consumership, account information such as address of service premises and meter number should be verified by the ex-registered consumers and the new occupiers together. This arrangement can lower the chance of incorrect information being provided by new occupiers that may lead to wrong change of consumership.
3. If there are no water supplies to the service premises or the water supplies to the service premises have been disconnected, i.e. the meters have been removed, new occupiers should pay a re-connection fee of $380 in addition to a deposit. In this circumstance, they should use Form WWO 542 for application.

Note 1: The forms are also available at our Customer Enquiry Centres (CEC), the District Offices, through the WSD’s Enquiry Hotline or WSD's website.

In Person

The completed application form (Form WWO 1 or Form WWO 1145 or WWO 542) can be submitted in person at any one of WSD’s CEC. In general, the processing time is within 15 minutes after the provision of all the required information. The consumer may collect the deposit demand note at the same time if the change of consumership is effective on or before the date of application. However, for applications in person to effect a change of consumership on a date set beyond one month from the application date, CECs may only process the application in due course. The deposit demand note will be sent to the applicant by post after the effective date.

By Phone

Applications for taking-up of domestic supply or flushing supply in personal capacity may be made by calling the WSD’s Enquiry Hotline. In general, the processing time is within 15 minutes after the provision of all the required information.

Through Internet

Applications may be made through the Internet (for applications for domestic or flushing supplies in personal capacity only) provided that there are water supplies to the premises. In general, online take-up application will be completed within 7 working days after the provision of all the required information (Note 2).

Note 2: For cases where there are no water supplies to the premises or the water supplies have been disconnected, (i.e. the meters have been removed) please either come to our CECs or download Form WWO 542 to apply for water supply. The completed form can be submitted by post or fax or email to WSD or in person at any one of WSD’s CECs.

Policy Adopted in Processing Applications

In line with our policy of providing customer-oriented service, we will process a take-up application irrespective of whether the existing registered consumer has applied for the closure of his/her account or not. There will be delays if we are to process and approve only those applications where the existing registered consumers have applied for closure of accounts or have already been granted approval for their applications. For example, new tenants of rented premises may suffer long delays in taking up the accounts as they usually do not have knowledge of the previous tenants and thus cannot make contact with them to request closure of the accounts. In practice, once we have received an application for taking-up of an account, a new account will be set up for the new consumer to facilitate the issue of the deposit demand note and the arrangement for maintaining water supply to the premises. We will also separately issue a written notification and then a final bill to the closed account’s mailing address with a bill message advising the ex-registered consumer that his/her consumership has been terminated and he/she may contact us if he/she has any enquiries.

Moving Out (Closing Accounts)

The current water deposit for a domestic account is $400. Many registered consumers did not apply for closure of accounts and a refund of the deposit when they moved out of their premises. Some might have lost the deposit receipts, while some might simply consider the amount of the deposit not worth the trouble to request refund. However, so far as they were the registered consumers, they would remain liable for payment of water charges in respect of their former premises even though they had physically moved out and did not use the water concerned. In many cases their lack of action had led to heavy financial losses, which in some cases were as high as tens of thousands of dollars.

To protect their own interest, registered consumers should submit their applications for closure of accounts to WSD within 30 days (but not less than 14 days) before the effective date of termination of their consumership when they cease to be the owner, tenant or occupier of the premises.

For more details of applications for closure of account, please visit "Closure of Accounts and Refund of Water Deposit".


Related Links

Giving 14 days advance notice to give up and take up consumership   Change Bill Language? Register Now!.   Use Autopay Easy Way.

跳至內容

用戶轉名

水務署(下稱本署)對用戶權的認可是基於《水務設施條例》第7條規定處理:

「水務監督可認可任何以下的人為任何處所內消防供水系統或內部供水系統的用戶:

  1. 佔用該處所的人;或
  2. 負責管理該處所或其任何部分的人;並
  3. 按水務監督指明的形式保證下列事項者:

    1. 繳付任何有關消防供水系統或內部供水系統的到期收費;及
    2. 承受責任保管與保養消防供水系統或內部供水系統,及保管任何有關消防供水系統或內部供水系統的水錶的人。」

因此,佔用或負責管理某處所的人士,須向本署申請承接該處所的用戶權。請注意,《水務設施條例》及《水務設施規例》所列的各項註冊用戶責任,不可由已身故者承擔。若沒有用戶提出申請,本署可能會截斷該處所的供水。供水一經截斷,用戶需繳付接駁費,方可重新接駁內部供水系統。

搬入(承接帳戶)

任何佔用或負責管理某處所的人士,應該申請成為相關供水的註冊用戶。住宅及非住宅申請人皆須根據《水務設施條例》和《水務設施規例》的要求,提供一份保證書和繳交水費按金及相關費用。如果前註冊用戶還有水費未付,本署或會要求申請人提供文件,例如律師信、已蓋印花的租約、買賣合約等,以便本署核實申請人承接用戶權的生效日期。

申請人可以個人或公司名義透過以下途徑提出申請﹕

以郵遞、傳真或電郵辦理

申請人可把填好的申請表格(附註1),郵遞傳真電郵方式,連同香港身分證、護照或商業登記證(視乎何者適用)的副本,提交至水務署。本署一般於七個工作天內辦妥有關申請。

申請類別
1. 如前註冊用戶已自行向水務署遞交結束帳戶申請而水錶又未拆除,新住戶應使用表格WWO 1申請承接帳戶。
2. 若新住戶能夠直接或透過物業代理與前註冊用戶聯絡,以議定用戶轉名日期和共同填寫申請用戶轉名表格WWO 1145,則兩者應一起核實供水處所地址和水錶編號等帳戶資料。此安排可以減低新住戶因提供錯誤資料而導致用戶轉名出錯的機會。
3. 如所入住的處所並無食水供應或供應已被截斷(即水錶已被拆除),則新住戶除須繳交按金外,還須繳付380元以重新接駁供水。在此情況下,新住戶應使用表格WWO 542提出申請。

附註1﹕索取有關表格可前往本署的客戶諮詢中心或各區的民政事務處,也可以致電本署客戶諮詢熱線索取或透過本署的網頁下載表格。

親身辦理

申請人可親臨本署任何一間客戶諮詢中心遞交填妥的申請表格(WWO 1WWO 1145WWO 542)。一般情況下,如所需資料齊備,可於15分鐘內辦妥有關申請。若用戶轉名的生效日期為申請當日或之前,客戶可即場取得按金繳費單。但是,若用戶轉名的生效日期在申請日的一個月之後,該申請須待日後適當時候才獲處理,而有關按金繳費單將在生效日期後以郵遞方式寄予申請人。

以電話辦理

以個人名義申請承接住宅用水或沖廁用水的客戶,可致電本署客戶諮詢熱線辦理轉名手續。一般情況下,如所需資料齊備,可於15分鐘內辦妥有關申請。

在網上辦理

如處所現時已有食水供應,申請人可透過網上服務申請承接帳戶(只限以個人名義申請住宅用水或沖廁用水的用戶)。一般而言,本署會於七個工作天內辦妥有關申請(附註2)

附註2﹕若處所無食水供應或供應已被截斷(即水錶已被拆除),請前往本署的客戶諮詢中心或下載表格WWO 542申請供水。填妥的表格可以郵遞傳真電郵方式送交本署,或親身遞交至本署任何一間客戶諮詢中心

處理申請所採用的方針

為貫徹以客為本的服務方針,無論現時的註冊用戶是否已申請結束其帳戶,本署都會處理更改用戶權的申請。這可避免因要先獲得或審批現時的註冊用戶的終止帳戶申請,而引致更改用戶權的申請受到延誤。舉例來說,新租戶通常與舊租戶素不相識,所以難以聯絡和要求舊租戶結束帳戶,結果可能令承接帳戶的安排延誤多時。實際上,本署在接獲承接帳戶的申請後,就會盡快為新用戶設立新的帳戶,以便發出按金繳費單及安排維持供水的事宜。本署亦會發出結束帳戶通知書至已結束帳戶的通訊地址,而隨後發出的終結單將通知前註冊用戶其帳戶已被結束,若有任何疑問可聯絡本署。

搬出(結束帳戶)

住宅用戶現時的水費按金是400元。不少註冊用戶因遺失水費按金收據或因金額小而嫌麻煩,在遷離處所時未有結束水費帳戶及要求退回按金。然而,即使住戶已遷出該處所及沒有在該處用水,但只要他們仍是有關處所的註冊用戶,他們仍要為該處所的水費負責。有很多個案中的註冊用戶因須承擔責任而蒙受很大的經濟損失,當中有些個案涉及的金額甚至高達數萬元。

為保障自身利益,當註冊用戶不再是處所的業主、租戶或住戶時,應向本署申請結束帳戶,而該申請應在用戶權結束日之前的30天內(但不少於14天)提出。

請瀏覽申請結束帳戶及發還水費按金以取得更多詳細資料。


相關連結

搬遷或入伙,14天前通終結或轉名,輕鬆快夾妥   更改帳單語言.   自動轉帳,方便快捷.