Jump to the beginning of content

Waterworks (Waterworks Regulations) (Amendment) Ordinance 2021 – Protect tenants from being overcha

In light of the enact of the Waterworks (Waterworks Regulations) (Amendment) Ordinance 2021, the amended Regulation 47 of the Waterworks Regulations only allows a registered consumer of the WSD (usually the landlords) to recover from the occupants of the premises (usually the tenant) the water charge paid to the WSD.  If the amount recovered by the landlord exceeds the water charge paid to the WSD, the landlord shall be guilty of an offence. Offenders are liable to a maximum fine of HK $ 10,000.  The amended WWR strengthens the protection of tenants of subdivided units from being overcharged for water.

To avoid any dispute arising from recovery of the water charge, landlords of subdivided units should discuss and agree with their tenants a suitable and acceptable apportionment.   Landlords or tenants may also consider applying to the WSD for the installation of separate water meters for subdivided units to enable tenants to pay water charge based on the water consumption

The WSD will step up the publicity on combating water overcharge to tenants of subdivided units through a series of activities, including meeting with the relevant groups and estate agency organisations, as well as distributing leaflets and posters to tenants, and disseminating relevant information on the department’s website, etc..

The WSD has all along been encouraging the public to report unscrupulous landlords for overcharging tenants of subdivided units for water. A relevant option has been available under its enquiry hotline on 2824 5000.  After calling the hotline, the public can choose language (1, 2 or 3 (Cantonese, Putonghau or English), and then press "7" to select the option of "Report Water Overcharge of subdivided Units " for reporting to the staff direct.

Meanwhile, the WSD will continue to conduct proactive patrols in suspected subdivided units to investigate any situation of overcharging for the use of water. Prosecution will be instituted should there be sufficient evidence.

Points to note when collecting water charges for subdivided units

Landlords

Tenants

Estate Agents

For more details of the Pilot Scheme for Installation of Separate Water Meters for Subdivided Units , please refer to the web sites below:

跳至內容

《2021年水務設施(水務設施規例)(修訂)條例》 – 禁止濫收水費 (特別適用於分間單位)

因應《2021年水務設施(水務設施規例)(修訂)條例》的通過,經修訂後的《水務設施規例》第47條規定水務署的註冊用戶 (通常為業主)就供水方面只可向其處所的佔用人 (通常為租戶)收回繳交給水務署的水費。若業主向其租戶收取的費用超過此金額,即屬違法。違規者一經定罪,最高處罰款港幣一萬元。有關修訂加強保障分間單位租戶免被濫收水費。

為避免在收回水費時發生爭議,分間單位業主應與各租戶協定一套合適的水費分攤方法。業主或租戶也可考慮向水務署申請為分間單位安裝獨立水錶,以便租戶按其用水量繳交水費。

水務署會透過一系列的活動,包括約見相關團體及地產代理組織、製作宣傳單張和海報派發予租戶,以及在水務署網頁上發放資訊等,以加強宣傳打擊向分間單位租戶濫收水費的信息。

水務署一直鼓勵市民就不良業主向分間單位租戶濫收水費作出舉報,並已在客戶服務熱線2824 5000提供有關選項。市民致電熱線,選擇語言(按1, 2 或3 (廣東話, 普通話或英文))後,再按「7 」字選擇「舉報『劏房』濫收水費」的選項,便可直接向職員舉報。同時,水務署會繼續主動巡查懷疑的分間單位,調查有否濫收水費的情況,若有足夠證據,會提出檢控。

就收取分間單位水費時須注意事項

業主
租戶
地產代理從業員

有關分間單位安裝獨立水錶先導計劃的詳情及申請程序,請參閱以下網址: