Jump to the beginning of content

Closure of Accounts and Refund of Water Deposit

Application for Closure of Accounts

When a registered consumer ceases to be the owner, tenant or occupier of the premises, he/she should inform Water Supplies Department (WSD) to close the water account and apply for refund of the deposit. After deduction of the outstanding charges, the balance of deposit, if any, will be refunded to the registered consumer. The liabilities of the registered consumer will be discharged upon closure of the account and settlement of all outstanding charges.

Registered consumers should submit their applications within 30 days (but not less than 14 days) before the effective date of termination of their consumership through the following channels.

By Post, By Fax, By Email or In Person

Application can be made with a completed Form WWO 1145 or Form WWO 243 or a letter to the same effect together with the required document (Note 1) and should be sent to WSD either by post or by fax or by email to WSD or in person to any of our Customer Enquiry Centres.

Type of Application Required document (Note 1)
1. If an ex-registered consumer does not give 14 days' advance notice, the WSD will not be able to take the final meter reading on the account closure date and the final bill will be based on an estimated consumption. To avoid disputes arising from consumption estimation, ex-registered consumers are strongly advised to try to contact the new occupiers, direct or through property agents, to agree on a date of change of consumership, take the meter reading and jointly complete Form WWO 1145 for the change of consumership. The final bill of the ex-registered consumers and the first bill of the new registered consumers will then be based on the agreed meter readings.

Water Deposit Receipt

If the receipt has been lost, please also submit the completed Form WWO 213.

2. If an ex-registered consumer cannot contact the new occupiers, application should be made with Form WWO 243 or a letter to the same effect.

Note 1: The requirement is applicable to non-domestic accounts opened before 22 January 2005.

Through Internet or By Phone

For accounts of domestic or flushing supplies and registered in personal capacity, applications may be made through the Internet or by phone.

For Premises in Public Rental Estates under Hong Kong Housing Authority (HKHA) or Hong Kong Housing Society (HKHS)

The tenants of domestic flats in public rental estates under HK Housing Authority (HKHA) or HK Housing Society (HKHS) should notify their respective housing estate offices if they intend to terminate their water accounts. The owners of the sold domestic premises of HKHA or HKHS should submit their applications through the above channels directly to WSD.


Refund of Water Deposit

Upon receipt of an application for closure of account, WSD will arrange for taking of final reading if the registered consumer has given 14 days’ advance notice. The final bill will be issued within 3 working days after the account closure date. Any outstanding water, sewage charges or related charges will be deducted from the deposit. In general, the deposit balance, if any, will be refunded by crossed cheque to the registered consumer (if a forwarding address is provided) within 9 working days after the issue of the final bill. In case there is overpayment in the closed account, the ex-registered consumer may apply for refund by calling our Enquiry Hotline or in writing with relevant payment proof.

If the registered consumer of a domestic account registered in personal capacity will soon leave Hong Kong for good and is unable to await the refund of the deposit balance (not exceeding $500), he/she may visit our Wan Chai Customer Enquiry Centre with his/her Hong Kong Identity Card or passport, the deposit receipt (if any) and any relevant documents in support of his/her departure. Special arrangements will be made to refund the deposit balance to him/her as soon as possible. Please note that the cash refund will not be made unless the effective date of closing the account is on or before the date of application for the refund of the deposit balance.

Closure of Account Due to Taking-up of Consumership by New Registered Consumer

If the registered consumer has never applied for the closure of account but the account for the premise is taken up by a new registered consumer, his /her account will be closed. We will also separately issue a written notification and then a final bill to the closed account's mailing address with a bill message advising the ex-registered consumer that his/her consumership has been terminated and he/she may contact us if he/she has any enquiries. If there is deposit balance and/or overpayment, if any, in the closed account, the ex-registered consumer should apply for refund by calling our Enquiry Hotline or completing Form WWO 243.


Related Links

Giving 14 days advance notice to give up and take up consumership

跳至內容

结束帐户及发还水费按金

申请结束帐户

当注册用户不再是处所的业主、租户或住户时,请通知水务署(下称本署)结束水费帐户及申请发还按金。在扣除用户的欠款後,按金余额 (若有) 将会退回注册用户。注册用户在结束帐户并缴清欠款 (若有)後,将无须再承担注册用户的法律责任。

注册用户应在用户权结束日之前的30天内(但不少於14天)透过以下途径向本署提出申请。

以邮递、传真、电邮或亲身办理

申请人可把填妥的申请表格(表格WWO 1145表格WWO 243)或具相同资料的信件,连同所需文件(附注1)邮递传真电邮方式送交本署,或亲身递交至本署任何一间客户谘询中心

申请类别 所需文件 (附注1)
1. 如前注册用户未能给予14天预先通知,本署便不能安排在帐户结束日抄录水表的最後读数,而终结单会根据估计的用水量结算。为免因估计用水量而引起争议,前注册用户应尝试直接或透过物业代理与新住户联络,以议定用户转名日期、抄录水表读数和共同填写表格WWO 1145申请用户转名。前注册用户的终结单和新注册用户的首张帐单会根据双方议定的水表读数计算。

水费按金收据

如遗失按金收据,请同时提交填妥的表格WWO 213

2. 如前注册用户未能联络新住户,应以表格WWO 243或具相同资料的信件申请。

附注1﹕此要求只适用於2005年1月22日前开立的非住宅帐户。

经电话或网上申请

以个人名义登记的住宅用水或冲厕用水的注册帐户,可致电本署客户谘询热线或透过网上服务申请结束帐户。

香港房屋委员会或香港房屋协会辖下的公共屋邨住宅单位

香港房屋委员会或香港房屋协会辖下的公共屋邨住宅单位租户如要申请结束帐户,应通知有关的屋邨办事处;至於已购入香港房屋委员会或香港房屋协会辖下公共屋邨住宅单位的业主,则应循以上途径直接向本署递交申请。


发还按金安排

在收到注册用户的结束帐户申请後,如注册用户已给予14天预先通知,本署会安排抄录有关水表的最後读数。终结单会在帐户结束日期後的三个工作天内发出。本署会从按金中扣除仍未清缴的水费、排污费及其他欠款。按金余额(如有)一般会在发出终结单後的九个工作天内,以划线支票的形式退还至注册用户提供的通讯地址。如已结束的帐户内有多缴的款项,前注册用户可致电本署客户谘询热线或以书面申请退还该款项,申请时需提供缴款证明。

假如以个人名义登记的注册住宅用户即将永久离开香港,而且未能等待退回按金余额(不超过500元),注册住宅用户可带同香港身分证或护照、按金收据(如有)和有关离港的证明文件,亲自到本署的湾仔客户谘询中心办理手续。本署将作出特别安排,尽快退还按金余额。请注意,只有当帐户在申请退还按金余额的当日或之前已结束,本署才可以现金退还按金余额。

因新用户承接用户权而令现有帐户结束

如果注册用户从未申请结束帐户,但该处所已有新住户成功申请承接帐户,该用户的帐户会被结束。本署亦会发出结束帐户通知书至已结束帐户的通讯地址,而随後发出的终结单将通知前注册用户其帐户已被结束,若有任何疑问可联络本署。如结束帐户内有按金余额及/或多缴的款项(如有),前注册用户可致电本署客户谘询热线或填妥表格WWO 243申请退还款项。


相关连结

搬迁或入伙,14天前通终结或转名,轻松快夹妥.