Jump to the beginning of content

Works of a Minor Nature

Pursuant to Section 14 of the Waterworks Ordinance (WWO), a person must not construct, install, alter, or remove a fire service or inside service unless the Water Authority (WA) has granted a written permission for it. The WA may grant the written permission on his own initiative or on application of a licensed plumber. Besides, Section 15 of the WWO also stipulates that, a person who is not a designated person# must not carry out the construction, installation, maintenance, alteration, repair or removal of a fire service or inside service (i.e. specified plumbing works).

The WA may waive the requirement of permission under Section 14 of the WWO in the case of alterations to a fire service or inside service which are, in his opinion, of a minor nature. Moreover, under Section 15 of the WWO, a person who is not a designated person may carry out specified plumbing works if the works are alterations or repairs to a fire service or inside service that are, in the opinion of the WA, of a minor nature.

Alterations or repairs to a fire service or inside service must not be considered as of a minor nature if the alterations or repairs would, in the opinion of the WA, adversely affect the efficiency of the fire service or inside service in providing a reliable and adequate supply of water; or quality of the water. In the opinion of the WA, examples of alterations or repairs to inside services or fire services satisfying the following 5 conditions are considered as works of a minor nature:

  1. do not change the purpose of supply (e.g. from domestic purpose to trade purpose1) or the existing usage (e.g. from fire fighting to vehicle washing or internal cleansing in building, from irrigation to air-conditioning) of the plumbing installation already approved by the WA;
  2. do not change from the indirect supply of the plumbing installation already approved by the WA to direct supply;
  3. do not require dismantling and reinstallation of the water meter installed by the WA;
  4. do not involve soldering for connecting copper pipes; and
  5. do not require provision of backflow preventive devices for water using apparatus [such as washing machine / dish-washing machine (without submerged inlet) or water filter (faucet or countertop type)].
  A. At the inside service solely serving an individual flat/unit within a building Examples
i. Replacement of pipes or fittings2 Within a domestic flat, a shop unit or an office
  • Replacement of pipes or fittings
  • Replacement of a water closet and its flushing cistern
  • Replacement of a water heater, provided that the type of water heater does not change
ii. Repairs to leaking pipes or fittings
  • Rewashering of an existing tap
  • Tightening joints of leaking pipe
  • Fixing components of leaking fitting
iii. Insertions or taking-out of valves along the existing pipeline within the same flat/unit
  • Insertion of a gate valve along the existing pipeline between a kitchen and a bathroom within a domestic flat
iv. Extensions or reductions of the existing pipeline with additions of a new tap/new valves or abandonment of some existing taps/valves within the same flat/unit to supply a single additional draw-off point, appliance or device, provided that the draw-off point, appliance or device does not require the installation of a storage tank Within a domestic flat, a shop unit or an office
  • Extension of the existing pipeline to supply the single additional draw-off point
  • Shortening and plugging of an existing pipeline supplying a tap
  • Extension of the existing pipeline to supply a water using apparatus such as washing machine, dish-washing machine (without submerged inlet) or water filter (faucet or countertop type)

 

  B. At the inside service or fire service within a building/lot boundary (other than A) Examples
i. Replacement of pipes or fittings of length not exceeding 3 metres
  • Replacement of about 2-metre long corroded/leaking pipe, valve, cock, tank or defective pumpset in communal pipe of inside service or fire service within a building
ii. Repairs to leaking pipes or fittings
  • Rewashering of an existing tap
  • Tightening joints of leaking pipe
  • Fixing components of leaking fitting

Notes:

  1. “Domestic purpose” means a purpose connected solely with the occupation of a dwelling-house and does not include a purpose connected with a garden, lawn, playground or swimming pool appurtenant to a dwelling-house. “Trade purpose” means water supplied for use for any purpose connected with a trade, manufacture or business, other than a construction purpose, shipping purpose or domestic purpose.
  2. “Fitting” means any apparatus, cistern, cock, equipment, machinery, material, tank, tap, valve and any appliance or device other than a meter installed by the Water Authority, which is installed or used in a fire service or inside service.

Minor alterations and repairs to inside services or fire services shall conform to waterworks requirement in respect of quality of workmanship and material. It is in the interest of the consumer/agent that in case of doubt to notify the WA of his intention, so that the WA can give advice to the consumer/agent.

Please employ licensed plumber to submit an application to the WA prior to carrying out the works not of a minor nature and the works concerned shall be carried out by a designated person. A person who employs or permits a person who is not a designated person to carry out works not of a minor nature commits an offence.

# “Designated person” means:

  1. a licensed plumber;
  2. a registered plumbing worker;
  3. a registered plumbing worker (provisional);
  4. a person who carries out specified plumbing works under the instruction and supervision of a licensed plumber or registered plumbing worker; or
  5. a public officer authorized by the WA.

Related Links

跳至內容

性質輕微的工程

根據《水務設施條例》(《條例》)第14條的規定,用戶/代理人如需建造、安裝、更改、或拆除消防供水系統或內部供水系統,必須獲得水務監督的書面許可。上述書面許可,可由水務監督主動給予,亦可由水務監督應持牌水喉匠的申請而給予。此外,《條例》第15條亦規定,建造、安裝、保養、更改、修理或拆除消防供水系統或內部供水系統(指明水管工程)需由指定人士#的人進行。

根據《條例》第14條的規定,如水務監督認為消防供水系統或內部供水系統的更改性質輕微,則可免除取得許可的要求。另外,根據《條例》第15條的規定,如指明水管工程屬消防供水系統或內部供水系統的更改或修理,而水務監督認為,該項更改或修理屬性質輕微,可由非指定人士的人進行。

如水務監督認為消防供水系統或內部供水系統的更改或修理,會對該系統在提供可靠而充足的供水方面的效率;或水質,造成不良影響,則該項更改或修理不得視為屬性質輕微。水務監督認為,下表所示的內部供水系統或消防供水系統的更改或修理工程是性質輕微的工程。然而,有關工程必需滿足以下5項條件:-

  1. 不會更改已獲水務監督批核的水管裝置的供水用途(例如:從住宅用途改為工商業用途1)或用法(例如:從消防用水改為清洗車輛或大廈內部清洗用水、從澆水改為空氣調節用水);
  2. 不會將已獲水務監督批核的水管裝置由間接供水改為直接供水;
  3. 毋須拆除及重裝水務監督或任何授權人士所安裝的水錶;
  4. 不會涉及使用軟焊方法連接銅喉管;及
  5. 毋須為用水器具設置防止回流裝置 [例如洗衣機/洗碗碟機(其入水口非浸沒水中)或濾水器(水龍頭裝套型或水盤上型)]。
  甲. 在建築物內獨立供水給個別住宅/單位的內部供水系統 例子
i. 更換喉管或裝置2 在家居、商店或辦公室內
  • 更換喉管或裝置
  • 更換廁所及其沖水水箱
  • 更換熱水器,但沒有改變其類型
ii. 修理漏水喉管或裝置
  • 更換現有水龍頭墊圈
  • 收緊漏水喉管的接駁位
  • 修理漏水配件內的組件
iii. 在同一住宅/單位內的現有供水喉管上插入或取出閥門
  • 在家居內廚房及浴室之間的現有供水喉管上插入閥門
iv. 在同一住宅/單位內擴建或減少現有供水喉管,並添加一個新的水龍頭/新閥門或棄用一些現有的水龍頭/閥門,以增設一個取水點、用具或器件,只要取水點、用具或器件不需要安裝儲水箱 在家居、商店或辦公室內
  • 擴建現有供水喉管以增設一個取水點
  • 減少及堵塞供應現有水龍頭的供水喉管
  • 擴建現有供水喉管以增設一個用水器具,如洗衣機/洗碗碟機(其入水口非浸沒水中)或濾水器(水龍頭裝套型或水盤上型)

 

  乙. 在建築物/地段邊界內的內部供水系統或消防供水系統(除甲以外) 例子
i. 更換不多於3米的損壞喉管或裝置
  • 在建築物內的內部供水系統或消防供水系統的公用喉管中更換約2米長的鏽蝕/漏水喉管、閥門、活栓、水箱或損壞水泵
ii. 修理漏水喉管或裝置
  • 更換現有水龍頭墊圈
  • 收緊漏水喉管的接駁位
  • 修理漏水配件內的組件

註:

  1. 「住宅用途」指純粹與佔用住宅有關連的用途,但不包括與附屬於住宅的花園、草地、遊樂場或泳池有關的用途。「工商業用途」指供水作任何與商業、製造業或業務有關的用途,但建造用途、船舶用途或住宅用途除外。
  2. 「裝置」指在消防供水系統或內部供水系統安裝或使用的任何器具、蓄水池、活栓、設備、機器、材料、水箱、水龍頭及閥門;及任何除水錶外的用具或器件。

內部供水系統或消防供水系統的輕微更改或修理,須符合水務規格中關於工藝及物料品質。為本身利益計,用戶/代理人如有疑問,應把擬進行這類工程的構思告知水務監督,待其視乎需要而提供適當意見。

在進行非性質輕微的工程前,請先僱用持牌水喉匠向水務監督提交申請,而有關工程亦須由指定人士進行。任何人僱用或准許並非指定人士的人進行非性質輕微的工程,即屬犯罪。

# 「指定人士」指:

  1. 持牌水喉匠;
  2. 註冊水喉技工;
  3. 註冊水喉技工(臨時);
  4. 在持牌水喉匠或註冊水喉技工的指示及督導下進行指明水管工程的人;或
  5. 水務監督授權的公職人員。

相關連結