Jump to the beginning of content

Hydropower Plant

Tuen Mun Hydropower System

The hydropower system at Tuen Mun Water Treatment Works (WTW) is an important RE project for the Water Supplies Department (WSD) and it is the first of its kind in Hong Kong. Designed and implemented by the Water Supplies Department, this innovative and environmental-friendly renewable energy project is a pioneer in the world to construct 500kW hydropower facilities at a water treatment works.

Tuen Mun Water Treatment Works

Tuen Mun Water Treatment Works

Design of the Hydropower System

Basically, by making use of the hydraulic pressure and flow of raw water in the aqueducts, electrical power can be generated through a set of turbine generators. By means of power converters and step-up transformers, low voltage electricity generated by the WTGs will be converted into high voltage electricity of 11kV, which will then be connected to the electricity supply grid of the WTW to meet part of its power demand and hence reduce carbon emissions as well as the expenditure on electricity.

Design of the Hydropower System

Evaluation of the Effectiveness of Hydropower Generation

The hydropower project in Tuen Mun is carried out in two phases. The first phase and the second phase of the works have been completed successfully in May 2013 and February 2017 respectively. With the progressive growth of the water demand in the area, the output of the Tuen Mun WTW will be increased and we estimate that the hydropower system can generate up to about 3 million kWh of electricity annually in the future (equivalent to the potential reduction of about 2000 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions each year from burning fossil fuels by the power company). It also enhances the stability and reliability of the operational facilities of the water treatment works.

Way Forward

Not only does the successful commissioning of the hydropower system in Tuen Mun signify our continual effort to employ renewable energy in waterworks installations, but also provides the industry with a useful instance of similar applications. With the valuable experience gained in this innovative project, we are going to use a similar hydropower system at the Sha Tin Water Treatment Works and the relevant works is expected to be completed by 2019. In addition, we will explore installation of hydropower system in other appropriate locations so as to continue to strive for a better living environment for Hong Kong.

跳至內容

水力發電站

屯門水力發電系統

屯門濾水廠的水力發電系統是水務署重要的可再生能源項目,屬於香港首個水力發電站。這個由水務署構思及落實的一項既創新又符合環保節能的工程,亦是全球罕有地能興建在濾水廠的五百千瓦水力發電設施。

屯門水力發電系統

屯門水力發電系統

水力發電的設計原理

水力發電的基本原理是利用輸水管中原水的水壓和流量推動渦輪機而產生電力。發電機所產生的低壓電流經過電源轉換器及變壓器,轉化成一萬一千伏特(11kV)的高壓電能,並連接濾水廠的供電網絡,為廠內設施提供部份電力,達到減少碳排放和節省電費開支的目的。

水力發電的設計原理

水力發電的效益評估

屯門水力發電計劃分兩個階段進行,第一期工程和第二期工程已分別於2013年5月及2017年2月順利完成。隨著屯門濾水廠的供水量因應該區的食水需求持續增長而提升高,我們預計水力發電系統將來每年產電可高達約300萬度電力(約等於每年可減少2,000公噸因火力發電所需燃燒化石燃料而排放的二氧化碳)。同時,工程又有助提高濾水廠現有運作設施模式的穩定性和可靠性。

未來發展

屯門水力發電系統的成功啟用,除了標誌著水務設施善用再生能源的進程外,亦為業界帶來一些具參考價值的實例。根據這項創新工程的寶貴經驗,我們亦會在沙田濾水廠使用類似的水力發電系統,工程預計於2019年完成。另外,我們亦會評估在其他適合地點加設水力發電系統的可行性,持續為香港創造更美好的生活環境而努力。