Jump to the beginning of content

Sub-divided Units

Amendment of Waterworks Regulations related to Landlords Recovering Tenants for Water Charge (applicable to Sub-divided Units)

In light of the enact of the Waterworks (Waterworks Regulations) (Amendment) Ordinance 2021, the amended Regulation 47 of the Waterworks Regulations only allows a registered consumer of the WSD (usually the landlords) to recover from the occupants of the premises (usually the tenant) the water charge paid to the WSD.  If the amount recovered by the landlord exceeds the water charge paid to the WSD, the landlord shall be guilty of an offence. Offenders are liable to a maximum fine of HK $ 10,000.  The amended WWR strengthens the protection of tenants of sub-divided units from being overcharged for water.

To avoid any dispute arising from recovery of the water charge, landlords of sub-divided units should discuss and agree with their tenants a suitable and acceptable apportionment.   Landlords or tenants may also consider applying to the WSD for the installation of separate water meters for sub-divided units to enable tenants to pay water charge based on the water consumption

The WSD will step up the publicity on combating water overcharge to tenants of sub-divided units through a series of activities, including meeting with the relevant groups and estate agency organisations, as well as distributing leaflets and posters to tenants, and disseminating relevant information on the department’s website, etc..

The WSD has all along been encouraging the public to report unscrupulous landlords for overcharging tenants of sub-divided units for water. A relevant option has been available under its enquiry hotline on 2824 5000.  After calling the hotline, the public can choose language (1, 2 or 3 (Cantonese, Putonghau or English), and then press "7" to select the option of "Report Water Overcharge of Sub-divided Units " for reporting to the staff direct.

Meanwhile, the WSD will continue to conduct proactive patrols in suspected sub-divided units to investigate any situation of overcharging for the use of water. Prosecution will be instituted should there be sufficient evidence.

Points to note when collecting water charges for sub-divided units

Landlords

Tenants

Estate Agents

Application of separate water meter for “Sub-divided Units”

Application requirements

Landlords/tenants of sub-divided units applying for the installation of separate water meters should meet the following requirements:

  1. Provision of a proper mailing address for receiving water bills and communication with the WSD;
  2. The premises should be maintained with a free access to ensure that the Water Authority can enter the premises to carry out inspection and other duties for the inside service;
  3. The separate water meters should be installed in the communal area for meter reading by WSD;
  4. Consent is obtained from relevant parties (e.g. building management office, the landlord of the premises) to modify the communal service and inside service; and
  5. A licensed plumber is engaged to design and install the inside service.

The application shall also satisfy the requirements of the Waterworks Ordinance, for example, the applicant is required to undertake the responsibility for the custody and maintenance of the inside service and to submit plumbing proposal for the inside service.

To assist tenants of sub-divided units in applying for installation of separate water meters, WSD has put in place measures to facilitate their compliance with the relevant requirement, such as allowing them to provide an email address instead of a formal mailing addresses. If tenants of the sub-divided units cannot find space in communal area for installation of the separate water meters, WSD will consider installing smart water meters within the sub-divided units for remote meter reading by WSD staff without entering into their units.

Procedure for application of separate water meter

  1. The applicants should submit Form WWO 542together with the corresponding plumbing proposals and the list of pipes and fittings intended to be installed (through WWO Form 1149 by a licensed plumber) for Water Authority's approval;
  2. Upon obtaining Water Authority's approval, the licensed plumber shall submit Form WWO 46 Part I & IIto apply for the permission of the Water Authority to proceed with the works under the approved plumbing proposal.  The plumbing works must NOT commence without the permission of the Water Authority in writing (i.e. The WWO 46 Part III is issued by WSD).
  3. Upon obtaining Water Authority's written approval, the licensed plumber can commence the plumbing works. Upon completion of the plumbing works, the licensed plumber should submit Form WWO 46 Part IV informing the Water Authority the completion of works. The Water Authority will arrange inspection accordingly;and
  4. Upon satisfactory inspection of the completed plumbing works, the Water Authority will inform the licensed plumber to collect water samples for testing. Upon receiving satisfactory testing results of water samples and the applicant has paid the fee for water meter installation and the deposit, the applicant will become a Registered Consumer. WSD will then effect water supply accordingly.

Pilot Scheme for Installation of Separate Water Meters for Sub-divided Flats (Premises with Sub-divided Units)

Some sub-divided flats in Hong Kong have separate plumbing systems for individual units and some even with metering instruments installed.  For these premises, the plumbing systems after undergoing minor alterations can provide meter positions suitable for installation of water meters of Water Supplies Department (WSD) as long as the landlords agree to undertake some obligations on matters related to meter installation and meter reading to Water Authority.   In light of this, we have formulated a pilot scheme with streamlined procedure to facilitate installation of WSD’s water meters for sub-divided flats having separate plumbing systems for individual units.  The details are as follows:-

Application Eligibility

The pilot scheme targets sub-divided flats meeting the following criteria:-

 Application Procedure

After approval, water supplied to individual sub-divided units will be charged according to the tariff structure for domestic consumers as stipulated in the Waterworks Ordinance.

For approved application, WSD will also send the applicant complimentary flow controllers to help enhance the water use efficiency of the flat (a pair of flow controllers for each sub-divided unit).

For any enquiries on the pilot scheme, please feel free to contact our help desk through hotline, fax or email as below.

Hotline:  3468 4963

Fax:          2520 3256

E-mail:     sdu_help_desk@wsd.gov.hk

*Service Hours: (Mondays to Fridays: 9:00a.m. - 5:30p.m. ; Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays: Closed)

跳至內容

分間樓宇單位

《水務設施規例》有關業主收取其租戶水費的修訂(適用於分間樓宇單位)

因應《2021年水務設施(水務設施規例)(修訂)條例》的通過,經修訂後的《水務設施規例》第47條規定水務署的註冊用戶 (通常為業主)就供水方面只可向其處所的佔用人 (通常為租戶)收回繳交給水務署的水費。若業主向其租戶收取的費用超過此金額,即屬違法。違規者一經定罪,最高處罰款港幣一萬元。有關修訂加強保障分間樓宇單位租戶免被濫收水費。

為避免在收回水費時發生爭議,分間樓宇單位業主應與各租戶協定一套合適的水費分攤方法。業主或租戶也可考慮向水務署申請為分間單位安裝獨立水錶,以便租戶按其用水量繳交水費。

水務署會透過一系列的活動,包括約見相關團體及地產代理組織、製作宣傳單張和海報派發予租戶,以及在水務署網頁上發放資訊等,以加強宣傳打擊向分間樓宇單位租戶濫收水費的信息。

水務署一直鼓勵市民就不良業主向分間樓宇單位租戶濫收水費作出舉報,並已在客戶服務熱線2824 5000提供有關選項。市民致電熱線,選擇語言(按1, 2 或3 (廣東話, 普通話或英文))後,再按「7 」字選擇「舉報『劏房』濫收水費」的選項,便可直接向職員舉報。同時,水務署會繼續主動巡查懷疑的分間樓宇單位,調查有否濫收水費的情況,若有足夠證據,會提出檢控。

就收取分間樓宇單位水費時須注意事項

業主
租戶
地產代理從業員

分間樓宇單位申請獨立水錶

(一) 對有關處所的要求
分間樓宇單位的業主或租戶若要為其處所申請安裝獨立水錶,有關處所必須符合以下規定:

  1. 有正式的郵寄地址作為收取水費單及與水務署聯絡之用;
  2. 須設有暢通通道,以確保水務監督可以進入該處所就內部供水系統進行檢查及執行其他相關職務;
  3. 獨立水錶須安裝在大廈公共地方,以讓水務署讀取水錶讀數;
  4. 取得相關人士(例如大廈管理處、業主等等)的同意改動公用供水系統及內部供水系統;
  5. 聘請持牌水喉匠設計及安裝內部供水系統。

該申請亦須符合《水務設施條例》要求,例如申請人需要保證承擔保管與保養內部供水系統的責任,提交有關該內部供水系統的喉管建議等。

為協助分間樓宇單位的租戶申請安裝獨立水錶,水務署已採取措施令分間樓宇單位租戶可符合有關規定,包括容許租戶以電郵地址取代正式郵寄地址。倘若租戶在大廈公共地方未能找到合適空間安裝獨立水錶,水務署會考慮在分間樓宇單位內安裝智能水錶,讓其職員可在單位外遙距讀取水錶讀數,而毋須進入單位。


(二) 申請程序

  1. 申請人須遞交WWO542表格及喉管建議與及擬安裝的喉管和裝置清單(經持牌水喉匠以表格WWO1149一併提交)供水務監督審批;
  2. 當水務監督批准有關喉管建議後,持牌水喉匠須以表格WWO 46 第一及第二部分向水務監督申請進行核准水管計劃下的工程的許可。如沒水務監督的書面許可(即發出WWO46表格的第三部分),相關的喉管工程不可展開;
  3. 當水務監督以書面批准有關喉管工程後,持牌水喉匠可進行喉管工程。當工程完工後,持牌水喉匠須向本署遞交WWO46表格的第四部分以通知本署完工。本署會安排視察工程;及
  4. 當視察工程滿意後,本署會通知持牌水喉匠安排抽取水樣本測試。當本署收到合格的水樣本測試結果,而申請人亦繳付了安裝水錶費用及按金後,申請人便會成為水務署的「註冊用戶」,之後本署會安排供水。

 

分間樓宇處所(即包含分間樓宇單位的處所) 安裝獨立水錶的先導計劃

現時,有些分間樓宇處所已為每個個別單位提供獨立供水系統,而當中有些更安裝了計量儀。就這些分間樓宇處所,若業主能承諾並遵守水務監督關於安裝水錶及報讀水錶的要求,其供水系統在經過性質輕微的改動後應可提供適合錶位以安裝水務署的水錶。有見及此,我們現推出一項先導計劃及簡化程序,以方便已為每個個別單位提供獨立供水系統的分間樓宇處所,安裝水務署的水錶。先導計劃的詳情如下:

申請資格

先導計劃針對符合以下條件的分間樓宇處所:

申請程序

獲批准後,分間樓宇單位的供水便可按《水務設施條例》所規定的住宅用戶收費方法收費。

就批准的申請,水務署亦會向申請人送出水龍頭節流器,以協助提升分間樓宇處所的用水效能 (分間樓宇處所內每個個別單位獲贈水龍頭節流器一對)。

若對先導計劃有任何查詢,歡迎以下列熱線、傳真或電郵與服務台聯絡。

*熱線的服務時間: (上午九時至下午五時三十分 ; 星期六、星期日及公眾假期休息)