Jump to the beginning of content

Total Water Management Strategy

Plan and Manage Water Resources

TWM booklet

The Total Water Management Strategy (the Strategy) promulgated by the WSD in 2008 has mapped out the strategy for a balanced supply and demand of water to ensure water security and support sustainable development in Hong Kong. The Strategy puts an emphasis on containing the growth of water demand through promoting water conservation and exploiting new water resources.

The Strategy focuses on two major areas, namely water demand management and supply management. On water demand management, one of the initiatives is to enhance public education on water conservation. Other initiatives include promoting the use of water-saving devices, enhancing water leakage control, and extending the use of seawater for toilet flushing. As regards supply side management, apart from strengthening the protection of water resources, we have been actively exploring new sources of water supply including seawater desalination, water reclamation, grey water recycling and rainwater harvesting.

Strategy Review

The Strategy has been contributing to water security for Hong Kong since its implementation. Building on our achievements to date, we embarked on a comprehensive review that would be completed in 2019 in order to ensure water resilience. The scope of this review comprises evaluating the effectiveness of the Strategy under implementation, forecasting the long-term water demand and supply up to year 2040, seeking for new water management initiatives and adjustments to the existing measures if necessary.

Existing Water Resources

Currently, Hong Kong has a 3-pronged water supply system, comprising rainwater from local catchments, imported water from Dongjiang in Guangdong and seawater for toilet flushing, respectively accounting for 21%, 57% and 22% of the total water consumption of 1,292 million cubic metres in 2018. With these three water sources, Hong Kong has been enjoying reliable water supply over the years.

 

New Water Resources

To better prepare Hong Kong for the challenges of climate change and increasing demand for fresh water due to rapid population and economic growth, and competition for water resources in the Pearl River Delta region, we have been striving to exploit new water sources which are not susceptible to climate change, including desalinated water, reclaimed water, recycled grey water and harvested rainwater.

跳至內容

全面水資源管理策略

策劃及管理水資源

TWM booklet

水務署於2008年推行「全面水資源管理策略」(「策略」),當中制訂了平衡用水供求的策略,以確保香港的供水穏定及支持可持續發展。「策略」的重點是「先節後增」,強調節約用水,以控制用水需求增長,並增加供水水源。

「策略」主要分兩方面:用水需求管理及供水管理。加強公眾教育、宣傳節約用水是用水需求管理的其中一項措施,此外還包括推廣使用節約用水裝置、加強控制滲漏及擴大使用海水沖廁。至於供水管理方面,除加強保護水資源外,我們亦積極開拓新的供水水源,包括化淡海水、再造水、中水重用及雨水回收。

全面水資源管理策略的顧問檢討

由於「策略」已推行多年,我們現正進行顧問研究檢討。檢討範圍包括評估現行「策略」的效益;預測至2040年的長遠用水需求及供應;尋求新的水資源管理措施;以及在有需要時適當調整現行措施,然後制定新「策略」。

負責檢討「策略」的顧問現正研究水資源管理措施,以應付按最新數據作估算的香港長遠供水需求。我們計劃在2018年完成檢討。

現有水資源

目前,香港供水系統的3個分支,即本地集水區收集的雨水、從廣東輸入的東江水,以及沖廁用海水,於2017年分別佔12.58億立方米總耗水量(包括沖廁用水需求)的26%、52%及22%。憑藉這3個水源,本港多年來一直有可靠的用水供應。

新增水資源

面對氣候變化、人口及經濟快速增長令食水需求持續增加,以及珠三角地區水資源競爭等挑戰,水務署正致力探索氣候適應力較高的可替代水源,包括化淡海水、再造水、中水重用及雨水回收,為本港作周全準備。