Jump to the beginning of content

Water Loss Management

WSD is serving over 7 million populations with water supply through more than 8,000km water mains. Similar to most of the developed countries/places, water loss in the water distribution network of Hong Kong is a perennial problem. Factors such as high water supply pressure due to the hilly topography, congested urban setting and the large number of underground utilities services pose challenges to us for maintaining a highly reliable and sustainable water supply network.

In the 1990s, the condition of water distribution network became poor resulting from a considerable length of water mains approaching the end of their service life. In order to rejuvenate the water distribution network to arrest the rapidly rising trend of main bursting and leakage, replacement and rehabilitation (R&R) of aged water mains was the most effective solution. The R&R programme, covering about 3,000 km of aged water mains was therefore launched in 2000.

Following the substantial completion of the programme in 2015, the condition of the water distribution network has been largely improved. The annual number of water main bursts has been reduced from the peak of about 2,500 in 2000 to 116 in 2016. The leakage rate has also been reduced from exceeding 25% in 2000 to about 15% in 2016.

However, the water mains, especially for those not covered in the previous R&R programme, will continue to age and deteriorate. Given the much improved condition of the water distribution network at present, large-scale R&R works is no longer the only effective means to sustain the healthiness of the network. Riding on the technological advancement of sensors, telemetry, network management software and data analysis in recent years, we consider it an opportune time to implement the Water Intelligent Network (WIN) to maintain the healthiness of the water distribution network through analyzing the network condition and determining the most cost-effective means to maintain its healthiness.

Water Intelligent Network

The essence of WIN is continuous monitoring of network performance in a holistic manner by utilizing advanced technologies. Under WIN, the water distribution network will be divided into about 2,000 discrete District Metering Areas (DMAs) and associated Pressure Management Areas (PMAs) of manageable size with high-technology monitoring and sensing equipment installed in each DMA and PMA network. A DMA is defined as a discrete area of a water distribution network established by the closure of the district boundary valve(s) or complete disconnection of water mains, with the quantity of water supplied to the area metered. Some of the DMAs also serve as PMAs where there is room for pressure management without affecting the minimum supply pressure to sustain normal supply. A schematic diagram of DMA and PMA is shown in Figure 1.

A schematic diagram of DMA and PMA
Figure 1

A tremendous amount of flow and pressure data as well as other associated network data will be collected from the monitoring and sensing equipment in each DMA and PMA network. An intelligent network management computer system shown in Figure 2 will be established for analyzing the data collected for continuous (and where necessary real-time) monitoring of the condition of the network.

An intelligent network management computer system
Figure 2

Implementation of WIN will enable problematic DMAs and PMAs to be prioritised for follow-up actions according to their degree of water loss with a view to maintaining the healthiness of the network. WIN will also enable the effective execution of measures under the four pillars of network management in an integrated and coordinated manner. These four pillars shown in Figure 3 include -

  1. active leakage detection and control using monitoring and sensing equipment installed in the network;
  2. pressure management to reduce pressure in the PMA network;
  3. quality and speedy repairs to water main leaks and bursts; and
  4. asset management by reprovisioning of aged water mains which are beyond economic repair.

Four pillars of network management
Figure 3

跳至內容

用水流失管理

水務署透過逾8,000公里長的水管為超過7百萬人口提供供水服務。與其他已發展的國家/城市相似,香港供水管網用水流失是一個長期的問題。山丘地形導致供水水壓偏高、市區環境擠迫及大量的地下公用事業設施等因素,都使水務署確保高度可靠和可持續發展供水管網的工作充滿挑戰。

在90年代,由於大量水管的使用壽命快將完結,導致供水管網耗損嚴重。更換及修復老化水管以更新供水管網,為最有效的方法遏止水管爆裂及滲漏事故頻繁發生的趨勢。有見及此,水務署遂於2000年展開涵蓋更換及修復約3000公里老化水管的計劃。

隨著更換及修復水管計劃於2015年大致完成後,供水管網的狀況已大為改善。全年水管爆裂個案由2000年高峰期約2,500宗大幅減少至2017年的88宗。而水管滲漏率亦由2,000年超過25%下降至2017年的約15%。

然而,供水管網尤其是早前更換及修復水管計劃尚未涵蓋的水管仍會繼續老化和耗損。鑑於現時供水管網狀況已經大為改善,大型的更換及修復水管工程不再是維持管網健康的唯一有效方法。隨著近年感應器,遙測,管網管理軟件及數據分析的科枝進步,我們認為現在是合適的時機推行智管網,分析供水管網的狀況,制定最符合成本效益的措施以維持管網的健康狀況。

智管網

智管網基本上是利用先進科技,持續監測供水管網的整體狀況。在智管網下,供水管網將會分成約2,000個大小易於管理的獨立監測區域和水壓管理區域。每個區域的管網內均安裝高科技監測和感應設備。監測區域是指供水管網內一個可由關閉區域邊界閘掣,或者徹底截斷水管而形成的獨立區域,而供應到該區域的水量會以流量錶量度。若實施水壓管理不會影響維持正常供水所需的最低水壓,監測區域亦可用作水壓管理區域。圖1為監測區域和水壓管理區域的示意圖。

監測區域和水壓管理區域的示意圖
圖 1

監測區域和水壓管理區域的監測和感應設備會收集大量水流量,水壓及其他相關的管網數據。如圖2所示,我們將會設立一套的智能管網管理電腦系統,用以分析所收集的數據,從而持續(有需要時則為實時)監測管網狀況。

智能管網管理電腦系統
圖 2

推行智管網可使我們根據有問題監測區域和水壓管理區域的失水程度,決定採取跟進措施的優先次序,以保持管網的健康。智管網亦可使下列4項主要管網管理措施以綜合和協調的方式有效實施 -

  1. 利用安裝在管網內的監測和感應設備,以進行主動探測和控制滲漏;
  2. 實施水壓管理,減低水壓管理區域內的壓力;
  3. 就滲漏和爆裂水管進行優質和快速的維修工作;以及
  4. 藉重置不符維修成本效益的老化水管進行資產管理。

4項主要管網管理措施
圖 3