Jump to the beginning of content

Replacement and Rehabilitation Programme of Water Mains

Objective and Background

Objective:

To launch a comprehensive and systemic programme to replace or rehabilitate about 3 000 kilometres of aged water mains in 15 years to improve the condition of the water supply network so as to maintain a reasonable level of services to consumers.

Background:

Hong Kong's fresh water and salt water supplies are provided through a network of about 8 000 kilometres of water mains. Most of these water mains are underground. A substantial portion of the water mains was laid more than 30 years ago. They are progressively approaching the end of their service life and have become increasingly difficult and costly to maintain.

As a result of the ageing problem, we faced an increasing number of main burst and leakage cases causing inconvenience to the public and loss of precious water. The previous way of carrying out piecemeal and small-scale replacement works was not considered effective. Starting from 2000, we have implemented a comprehensive and cost-effective management plan for the water supply network. This involves the replacement and rehabilitation of some 3 000 kilometres of aged water mains in stages to rejuvenate the water supply network.

Staging of the Works

To tackle the problems arising from the ageing of water mains in a cost effective manner whilst minimising the effects on the general public, we need to replace and rehabilitate the aged water mains in stages in a systematic manner. Main considerations include the following -

  1. avoidance of unnecessary water supply disruption to consumers as a result of excessive amount of works,
  2. avoidance of unnecessary traffic disruption during construction as a result of excessive road opening works, and
  3. cost effectiveness of the works with priority given to water mains more susceptible to leakage and bursting.

The total estimated cost of the R&R programme is about HK$23.6 billion. A breakdown of estimated costs in individual stages of the R&R programme is presented below:-

Estimated Costs of R&R Works at Different Stages

The 15-year Replacement and Rehabilitation of Water Mains Programme is substantially completed in December 2015. The major remaining works are water mains connection works and road reinstatement works at present. Due to the constraints of the works implementation hours and the excavated area arising from the traffic situation and noise control requirements, some individual works in the project require a longer time for completion.

Replacement and Rehabilitation Methods

Water Main Replacement Methods

The conventional method to replace aged water mains is to lay new water mains alongside the existing water mains using trench opening method. Upon completion of making connections to the new water mains, the existing water mains will be abandoned. As this method will involve road opening for the whole section of the water main, the method will be generally acceptable when the traffic and environmental impacts arising from the works are not serious and when the underground utilities present are not congested.

At locations where traffic and environmental impacts are causing concerns, our intention is to use trenchless techniques. These techniques are sometimes referred to as 'minimum dig' or 'reduced dig' techniques to accurately indicate the methods still require the opening of pits.

Trenchless replacement techniques involve the pre-drilling of a hole of suitable diameter and the insertion of a pipeline along the pre-drilled hole. Upon completion of making connections to the new water mains, the existing water mains will be abandoned. As the techniques need to avoid the already congested underground utilities, the pipelines will be laid deep underground which will lead to operation and maintenance problems. These replacement techniques will be limited to small areas with traffic and environmental problems. The main techniques are described below -

  1. Pipe Ramming

    This method involves the driving of a pipe sleeve from the launching pit using a pneumatic ramming machine to the receiving pit. The soil inside the pipe sleeve is removed and a new pipeline is then inserted into the pipe sleeve.

    Size Range: Pipes of diameter from 150 mm to 1200 mm

    Diagrammatic Illustration on Pipe Ramming
    Diagrammatic Illustration on Pipe Ramming
    Pipe Ramming Method in Progress
    Pipe Ramming Method in Progress
     
  2. Pipe Jacking

    This method involves the jacking of a pipe sleeve from the launching pit using a hydraulic jacking machine to the receiving pit. The soil inside the pipe sleeve is removed and then a new pipeline is inserted into the pipe sleeve.

    Size Range: Pipes of diameter over 900 mm

    Pipe sleeve being jacked from the launching pit
    Pipe sleeve being jacked from the launching pit
    Tunnel Face Closed During non-Working Time
    Tunnel Face Closed During non-Working Time
    Excavation by Hand at Tunnel Face
    Excavation by Hand at Tunnel Face
  3. Horizontal Directional Drilling

    This method is suitable at busy road junctions or river crossings. In this method a pilot hole is drilled along a designed profile using a drilling rig. The pilot hole is then enlarged to a suitable diameter by 'prereaming' the hole successively to a larger diameter. Once the drilled hole is enlarged, the new pipeline is then installed by pulling a prefabricated pipe through the drilled hole.

    Size Range: Pipes of diameter from 300 mm to 1200 mm

    Diagrammatic Illustration on Horizontal Directional Drill
    Diagrammatic Illustration on Horizontal Directional Drill
    Horizontal Directional Drilling Machine
    Horizontal Directional Drilling Machine
     

Water Mains Rehabilitation Methods

Rehabilitation methods are generally classified as trenchless methods (sometimes referred to as 'minimum dig' or 'reduced dig' methods.) In these techniques, a new pipe is launched from a 'launching pit' and travels along the existing pipe route to a 'receiving pit'. Under ideal situation, a pipe can travel up to about 100 metres to 200 metres. In practice, bends in the existing water mains would shorten the length of the water main to be rehabilitated. In general, rehabilitation methods are classified as follows -

  1. Close Fit Lining Method

    Close fit lining technique involves the insertion of a temporarily reduced diameter or re-shaped polyethylene pipe as a lining into an existing water main. The inserted pipe will be reverted to its original size on completion of the insertion process and form a lining in close contact with the existing pipe barrel. This technique relies on the flexibility and toughness of polyethylene pipe to revert to its original size after being deformed.

    Polyethylene pipe being inserted into the old pipe (1)
    Polyethylene pipe being inserted into the old pipe
    Polyethylene pipe being inserted into the old pipe (2)
    Polyethylene pipe being inserted into the old pipe
     
  2. Cured in Place Pipe Method

    This method involves the insertion of a polyester woven liner with epoxy resin by inversion (turning inside out) into the existing pipe. The liner is bonded to the host pipe to form a close -fit pipe after hardening of the resin.

    Size Range: Pipes of diameter 150 mm to 1000 mm

    Pipe liner being inserted into the host pipe from ground level
    Pipe liner being inserted into the host pipe from ground level
    Launch Pit
    Launch Pit
    Liner Being Inverted out of Turning Equipment
    Liner Being Inverted out of Turning Equipment
    Pipe Prior to Lining
    Pipe Prior to Lining
    Lined Pipe
    Lined Pipe
     
  3. Pipe Bursting Method

    In pipe bursting, a pneumatic or hydraulic bursting tool is forced through the existing water main causing it to burst. Fragments of the existing water mains are pushed into the surrounding soil by a spreader and a new pipe is installed in the vacated space. The new pipe may, if required, be slightly larger than the old pipe.

    Size Range: Pipes of diameter 50 mm to 500 mm

    Diagrammatic Illustration on Pipe Bursting Method
    Diagrammatic Illustration on Pipe Bursting Method
    Bursting / Expanding Cone
    Bursting / Expanding Cone
    Pneumatically Powered Percussive Mole
    Pneumatically Powered Percussive Mole
    Pulling Rod
    Pulling Rod
    Broken Pipe
    Broken Pipe
     

Benefit from the Works

Upon the progressive completion of the Replacement and Rehabilitation of Water Mains Programme , together with the implementation of the active leakage control and pressure management on water mains, the water mains bursts drop significantly with leakage rates reduced at the same time. The disturbances due to disruption of traffic, loss of trade, inconvenience to the general public and disruption of water supply to consumers arising from main leaks and bursts have been minimised.

Nos. of Pipe Bursts and Leaks

Year No. of Bursts No. of Leaks
00/01 2,479 21,693
01/02 2,211 20,940
02/03 1,885 23,651
03/04 2,064 19,199
04/05 1,812 17,393
05/06 1,585 14,657
06/07 1,639 12,472
07/08 1,817 14,184
08/09 1,323 14,143
09/10 988 13,107
10/11 610 12,546
11/12 317 12,118
12/13 267 11,609
13/14 241 10,619
14/15 169 9,516
15/16 148 9,604
16/17 96 8,724

number of pipe bursts and leaks

Effects Arising from the Works

Effect on Traffic

During the construction stage, the contractors have been required to submit detailed temporary traffic management schemes using updated traffic counts and on-site trial runs for the works. The temporary traffic management schemes have to be approved by the relevant authorities prior to its implementation. It is expected that the traffic impact arising from the works can be kept within acceptable level by implementation of the temporary traffic management schemes during construction.

Besides, at locations where traffic impacts are significant, we would consider to use trenchless / minimum dig techniques to alleviate the traffic impact problems.

Effect on the Environment

We have undertaken an environmental review as part of the detailed design process. In the environmental review, noise, air quality, water quality, waste and ecological impacts have been assessed following with all relevant statutory requirements. Findings of the environmental review have been incorporated into the detailed design of the works as well as the construction works.

Noise, dust impacts and site run-off are the key environmental concerns. The general approach to the issues are described as follows -

  1. Noise

    We have included the requirements of Noise Control (Construction Work) Regulation into the works contracts to ensure that the statutory guidelines are complied with at all times. Monitoring will be carried out during construction to ensure that the sensitive receivers will not be adversely affected by the noise generated from the works.

  2. Dust

    We have included the requirements of Air Pollution Control (Construction Dust) Regulation and "Recommended Pollution Control Requirements for Construction Contracts" issued by Environmental Protection Department into the works contracts to ensure that the statutory guidelines are complied with at all times.

  3. Site Run-off

    All site run-off generated from the construction works will be treated in accordance with the Water Pollution Control Ordinance before discharge into the drainage systems to avoid contamination.

Effect on Consumers

Replacement and rehabilitation of water mains may lead to inconvenience to the general public due to the construction works. Apart from the inconvenience caused by the works, water supply to consumers will be also affected as the works will involve the disconnections from of the old pipelines and the making of new connections to the new pipelines.

In order to minimise the disruption of water supply to consumers, we are endeavour to keep the number of water supply suspensions and the period of each water supply suspension to a minimum by suitable planning of the works during and the construction of the works. In any case, we will limit the period of water supply suspension to within 8 hours.

跳至內容

更换及修复水管计划

目标及背景

目标

我们的目标是在15年内有系统地分阶段全面更换及修复长约3000公里的老化水管,以改善供水网络的状况,为用户提供合理水平的服务。

背景

香港的食水和海水经水管网络输送至各用户。在2000年,这些水管长约5700公里,大部分埋於地下。很多水管在当时已敷设逾30年,它们的使用年限行将届满,维修保养愈趋困难,所需费用也日渐高昂。

由於水管老化,导致水管爆裂和渗漏的次数增加,对市民造成不便,并使珍贵的用水流失。过往进行的零碎及小规模水管更换工程并不奏效。自2000年起,我们推行一项全面及具成本效益的供水网络管理计划。这项计划涉及分阶段更换和修复长约3000公里的老化水管,更新供水网络。

工程阶段

於解决老化水管带来问题的同时,并兼顾提高工程的经济效益及减低对大众的影响,我们需要有系统以分阶段的方式进行更换及修复水管工程。我们主要考虑的因素包括:

  1. 避免因进行大量更换及修复水管工程以致严重影响对用户的供水服务;
  2. 避免施工期间因进行大量掘路工程而造成不必要的交通阻塞;及
  3. 优先处理状况较差及容易漏水和爆裂的水管,以达致经济效益。

整项更换及修复水管计划的估计费用约236亿。各工程阶段的估计费用详列於下列图表中:

更换及修复水管计划的估计费用

15年更换及修复水管计划已於2015年12月大致完成。现时主要余下水管接驳和路面还原工程。然而,该计划内有个别工程因交通情况或噪音管制要求等因素限制施工的时间和开挖范围,需要较多时间才可全部完成。

更换及修复水管方法

更换水管方法

一般采用的更换水管方法是沿旧有喉管旁边,以开掘方法敷设新喉管,待新喉管接驳完成後,旧有喉管才遭弃用。这种方法需要为整段喉管开掘坑道,在交通和环境影响问题轻微及地下设施不多的情况下,以开掘方法更换水管通常是可以接受的。

至於在交通非常繁忙的路口或喉管横越道路的地点,由於工程对交通的影响会较为严重,我们亦会引用「无开掘」(或称「有限度开掘」*)技术,以期减少开掘路面的范围,减轻对交通造成的影响。

[*注:「无开掘」技术因为仍需要开掘多个工作井,以便进行工程。因此,使用「有限度开掘」一词,较为贴切。]

无开掘方法是预先在地下钻挖适当直径的孔道,然後沿孔道穿进新喉管。待新喉管接驳完成後,旧有喉管才遭弃用。由於需要避开现有众多的地下设施,喉管通常会深藏於地底,造成运作及维修上的困难。因此,这种更换水管方法,只限於在出现交通及环境问题的地区进行。现将各种主要技术开列如下:

  1. 水管推顶法(Pipe Jacking)

    这种方法是在拟议喉管的两端开掘竖井,由进口井(Launching Pit) 用水压式千斤顶逐节推顶管套到另一端的接收井(Receiving Pit)。管套内的泥土会被移走,然後插进新喉管。

    适用范围:直径900毫米以上喉管

    管套由进口井被推顶到另一端
    管套由进口井被推顶到另一端
    隧道中之情况
    隧道中之情况
    在挖掘之隧道
    在挖掘之隧道
  2. 定向钻挖法(Horizontal Directional Drilling)

    这种方法是适用於交通繁忙的路口或河口。方法是用定向钻机钻一条引道,将引道放大到适当的直径,然後把预制的新喉管拖进管道。

    适用范围:直径300毫米至1200毫米喉管

    定向钻挖法图解
    定向钻挖法图解
    定向钻机
    定向钻机
     

修复水管方法

这种通常属於「无开掘」或称「有限度开掘」的方法,是把新喉管沿旧有管道,用特定方法从一个工作井套进至另一个接收的工作井。在理想的情况下,一条喉管可在地下延行约100米至200米,但在实际情况下,由於现存喉管呈现弯曲,新喉管所能延行的长度会有所缩短。一般而言,较常用的修复水管方法是「内喉紧贴法」(Close Fit Lining Method) 。

内喉紧贴法(Close Fit Lining Method)

内喉紧贴法是把一条暂为收缩或拉长的聚乙烯喉管插入旧管内,然後把喉管回复至原来大小,紧贴现有的管道。这种方法取决於聚乙烯喉管的伸缩性和坚韧度,在变形或拉长後,新喉管能差不多回复至原有大小。新套进的喉管直径会较旧喉管的略小。

聚乙烯内喉被拉入旧管内 (1)
聚乙烯内喉被拉入旧管内
聚乙烯内喉被拉入旧管内 (2)
聚乙烯内喉被拉入旧管内
 

工程带来的裨益

随着更换及修复水管工程逐步完成,再加上其间推行的水管渗漏控制及水管压力管理,水管爆裂事故已大为降低,整体水管的渗漏率亦同步下降。而水管渗漏和爆裂引致道路封闭而造成的交通阻塞,以至商业损失、对市民所带来的不便及用户的供水中断情况,将会获得纾缓。

水管爆裂及渗漏的统计数目

年份 爆裂数目 渗漏数目
2000 2,538 22,428
2001 2,280 20,787
2002 1,924 23,729
2003 1,993 19,703
2004 1,923 17,950
2005 1,644 15,626
2006 1,581 12,390
2007 1,713 13,612
2008 1,531 14,690
2009 1,066 13,305
2010 670 12,460
2011 370 12,392
2012 259 11,675
2013 257 11,031
2014 173 9,831
2015 145 9,410
2016 116 8,959
2017 88 8,512

水管爆裂及渗漏的统计数目

工程带来的影响

对交通的影响

在施工阶段,我们亦会规定承建商,根据最新的交通数据及现场试路等资料,提交临时交通管理详细计划,并在取得有关部门批准後,才付诸实施。我们预期藉此可把工程对交通造成的影响减低。

此外,在一些交通繁忙地点,我们会考虑采用「无开掘技术」或称「有限度开掘技术」进行工程,以减轻对交通的影响。

对环境的影响

我们在详细设计阶段进行环境评审,就噪音、空气质素、水质、废物及对生态的影响,以符合一切有关的法例规定为准则。我们会参照环境评审的结果,进行详细的工程设计和施工。

工程对环境的影响主要包括噪音、尘埃、工地流出的污水等,一般的处理方法列述如下:

  1. 噪音

    我们在工程合约中加进噪音管制(建筑工程)规例的规定,确保法定准则时刻得以遵从。在施工期间,我们会进行监察,以免对噪音感应敏感的地方受到不良的影响。

  2. 尘埃

    我们在工程合约中加进空气污染管制(建造工程尘埃)规例,以及环保署所发出就工程合约建议的污染控制规定,确保法定准则时刻得以遵从。

  3. 工地流出的污水

    所有在施工期间从工地流出的污水,将会依照水污染管制条例规定加以处理才排放,以免造成污染。

对用户的影响

更换及修复水管工程除了在施工时可能为市民带来不便之外,亦会影响给用户的供水服务,因为工程涉及拆除原有喉管和接驳新的喉管。

为了尽量避免妨碍供水服务,我们在施工期间致力减少暂停供水的时间及次数,并把每次暂停供水时间限制在8小时之内。