Jump to the beginning of content

Water Safety Plan

Water Safety Plan

1. Access to safe drinking water is essential to public health. Hong Kong enjoys one of the safest drinking water supply in the world with the quality complying fully with the World Health Organization's (WHO) Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality. The Water Supplies Department (WSD) is committed to providing a safe, clean and reliable water supply to customers in Hong Kong (HK). Stringent water treatment combined with comprehensive monitoring control of the treated water quality are essential steps in safeguarding public health. With effect from 1 August 2012, WSD has monitored the quality of our drinking water in accordance with the WHO's Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality, Fourth edition (WHO 2011) released in 2011.

 

2. The World Health Organization advocated for the first time in the Third edition of Guidelines for Drinking-water Quality to develop and implement a preventive Water Safety Plan (WSP) to provide an effective and proactive mechanism to ensure the safety of drinking water for the protection of public health. The WSP is based on the multiple-barrier approach and the Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points principle to ensure the safety of drinking water supply. The plan identifies potential hazards and prevents risks of contamination of drinking water from source to consumers' taps and comprises key components including: system assessment, control measures, operational monitoring, verification, management plans, documentation and surveillance.

 

3. In February 2005, a working group consisting of senior professionals from various operational units in the Department was set up to develop a WSP for WSD. They assessed systematically possible risks of contamination within the water supply system, and identified control measures to minimise the risks. Based on WHO recommendations, the Department of Health and WSD have agreed on the adoption of a set of guideline values for chemical and bacteriological parameters as the health-based targets for the drinking water supply in HK.

 

4. The primary objectives of the WSP for the WSD are as follows:
  • Prevention of contamination of source waters;
  • Reduction or removal of contamination through water treatment processes to meet water quality targets; and
  • Prevention of contamination during storage, distribution and handling of drinking water.

 

5. The development of the WSP for WSD has been completed in December 2006 and the WSP is fully supported by the Advisory Committee on Water Supplies (ACWS). Implementation of the WSP has commenced in early 2007 to safeguard the quality of treated water supply which mainly includes the following aspects: protection of the valuable water resources; maintaining close liaison with relevant mainland authorities for monitoring of Dongjiang water quality; operational monitoring and control of treatment processes; verifying water quality; setting up contingency plans; and surveillance on treated water quality in conjunction with the Department of Health.

 


Biosensing Alert System

Enhancing the rapid and preventive water quality monitoring

Drinking water quality is stringently controlled and monitored by the Water Supplies Department (WSD). All raw (untreated) water undergoes rigorous treatment processes and disinfection at the water treatment works before supplying to the public. Water samples are taken regularly for detailed analysis but testing results for most trace analyses take time to obtain.

With a view to enhancing the capability of rapid and preventive monitoring, the Water Supplies Department (WSD) has developed an innovative Biosensing Alert System which can monitor the water quality continuously and also enable us to determine rapidly and accurately whether the water quality is safe for drinking.

Biosensing Alert System

The system integrates biological, computer, telecommunication and automation technologies.

Zebrafish.   Alert.    Light-emitting Bacteria.

Zebrafish, a new model organism used in the study of human diseases and genetics, has been selected because of its high sensitivity to contaminants which may be present in water. Through information technology and internet, the responsible officers can observe in real-time the movement of the zebrafish in the specially designed aquarium, download previously recorded videos and data, monitor and control the computer programme anytime and anywhere.

Once any abnormal activity or death of zebrafish is detected, an alert will be raised. The system not only can send alert e-mails and SMS automatically, it can also make direct phone calls to the responsible officers and at the same time trigger an autosampler to start taking water samples at preset intervals.

We will then use a rapid toxicity testing system based on the bioluminescent technology (light-emitting bacteria) to test the water samples taken. This system possesses the merits of high accuracy and sensitivity and is capable of screening over 1,000 harmful substances in water within 60 minutes with low testing unit price of about HK$50 only. After enhancing and combining the above two systems, a system featured with double protection and validation capability - the Biosensing Alert System is formed.

Benefits of the Biosensing Alert System

Zebrafish Water Quality Monitoring System.   Bioluminescent Testing Technology.

Award

The Biosensing Alert System won the Bronze Prize of the Departmental Service Enhancement Award (Large Department Category) in Civil Service Outstanding Service Award Scheme 2013.

Relevant article:

http://www.servicexcellence.gov.hk/en/exemplary_services/2013/page-15.html

Relevant video: 

The Civil Service Outstanding Service Video Series 2013 - Water Supplies Department Biosensing Alert Flash Format.(Cantonese with English subtitles)

跳至內容

水安全计划

水安全计划

1. 安全的饮用水对於公众健康来说是不可缺少的。香港是世界上可享用最安全食水地方之一。所供应的食水水质,完全符合世界卫生组织(世卫)所订的《饮用水水质准则》。水务署承诺为香港市民提供安全、清洁及可靠的优质食水。严格的食水处理及全面的食水水质监控,是保障公众健康的重要步骤。水务署自二零一二年八月一日起,已采用世卫在2011年发布的《饮用水水质准则》第四版(世卫2011)作为香港的食水水质标准。

 

2. 世界卫生组织於第三版的《饮用水水质准则》内首次提倡制订和推行预防性的《水安全计划》,以提供一个有效和主动的机制,确保食水安全,保障公众健康。《水安全计划》是采用多重屏障体系及危害分析与关键控制点的原则,确保整个供水系统的食水安全。此计划鉴定潜在危害物及预防由水源以至用户水龙头的污染风险,而主要步骤包括系统评价、控制措施、运行监测、验证、管理计划、文件记录和监督。

 

3. 於二零零五年二月期间,水务署成立了一个由各有关单位的高级专业人员组成的工作小组,制订水务署的《水安全计划》,有系统地评估及确定供水系统内可能影响水质的各种风险因素,制订控制措施。卫生署与水务署亦根据世卫的指引,共同协定一套有关化学及细菌学项目的准则值,作为本港食水的健康目标。

 

4. 水务署的《水安全计划》的主要目标包括:
  • 防止水源污染;
  • 透过食水处理程序减少或清除污染物,以符合饮用水水质目标;
  • 防止食水在储存、输送及处理过程中受到污染。

 

5. 水务署的《水安全计划》的制订,已於二零零六年十二月完成,并得到水务谘询委员会全力支持。水务署已於二零零七年初实施《水安全计划》,以保障食水水质,此计划涵盖以下范畴:保护集水区内珍贵的水资源;与内地相关机关保持紧密联系,监测东江水水质;监控食水处理过程;进行水质验证;制订应变计划;以及与卫生署合作,共同监察食水水质。

 


 

「生物感应预警系统」

提昇快速和预防性水质监测

水务署一直严格监控食水水质,所有原水(未经处理的水)在供应给市民之前均会在滤水厂进行严格处理和消毒,并定期抽取水样本作详细化验;可是,微量分析一般需时较长,才能得到测试结果。

为加强快速和预防性监测的能力,水务署研发了一套创新「生物感应预警系统」,既可持续监测水质,又能快速及准确地让我们知道水质是否安全饮用的系统。

「生物感应预警系统」

这系统结合了生物、电脑、通讯及自动化的科技。

斑马鱼.  警戒.  发光菌.

斑马鱼是现时人类疾病及遗传学的新兴模式动物,对水中污染物有高灵敏度反应。这系统选用了斑马鱼,透过资讯科技和互联网,负责人员可随时随地观察到饲养在特制鱼缸内的斑马鱼的即时状况、提取过往纪录的录影片段及数据和随时随地监控电脑程式。

只要当斑马鱼出现异常活动或死亡,便会提升警戒级别。系统除了懂得自动发出电邮及短讯外,更会直接打电话给负责人员和即时自动抽取不同时段的水样本。

然後,我们会用一种以生物发光技术(发光菌)为基础的快速毒性检测系统为留取之水样本进行检测。此系统具高准确性及高灵敏度,能在60分钟内甄别超过一千种水中有害物质,且检测成本又低,只需约港币50元。当两套系统优化和整合後,便成为具双重保障及验证的「生物感应预警系统」。

「生物感应预警系统」的成效

「斑马鱼水质监察系统」.  生物发光测试技术.

奖项

生物感应预警系统赢得了2013 年公务员优质服务奖励计划「部门精进服务奖」(大部门组别)铜奖。

相关文章:

http://www.servicexcellence.gov.hk/tc/exemplary_services/2013/page-15.html

相关影片:

2013年公务员优质服务短片系列 - 水务署生物感应预警Flash文件格式.